Our Directors

This experienced group drives our top-level strategic decisions volunteering their time as leaders of our trustee company.

Dr Adrian Volders

BA, MA (Public Policy), PhD (Environmental Economics), Adj Prof

Adrian has been part of Queensland Trust for Nature since 2014.

Keep Reading

A committed environmentalist, Adrian was motivated to offer his skills,experience and entrepreneurial flair to the nature conservation cause. Widely recognised as an innovative leader in catchment management, Adrian authored the first accredited regional catchment strategy in Australia in the late 1990s, held senior positions in the natural resource management and water industries and led several large-scale environmental restoration and improvement projects.


Dr Liz O'Brien

B.S., PhD (Molecular Evolutionary Biology)

Dr Liz O’Brien was appointed as a Director in early 2019.

Keep Reading

 Her multi-sectoral career has spanned Queensland public sector policy and investment roles, university research management, partnership brokering and strategy development; and industry applied research. In her current role, she coordinates engagement between academic experts and government to help inform the development of policy for long term influence and impact. Liz is passionate about applying her expertise to support the protection of Queensland’s biodiversity.


Jim McKnoulty

B App Sc (Surv), CS, MIS Aust

Jim has been part of Queensland Trust for Nature since 2012.

Keep Reading

Former Queensland President and National Vice President of Greening Australia, he has worked to establish links between the development industry and the environment movement, to restore natural environments surrounding urban development projects. Jim is founding President of The Australian Green Development Forum and was one of five national finalists in the 2004 Prime Minister’s “Environmentalist of the Year Awards”, for his work in advancing the adoption of sustainable development practices in Australia’s property industry.  In March 2007 Jim was appointed Chairman of the Brisbane Lord Mayor’s CitySmart Taskforce.


Contact Us

11 + 3 =